Heart Hinge–Day Nine

Day 9

Can a Heart Hinge occur only when BOTH parties know they are Connected?

When I was a little girl we played a card game called “Authors.”  Each card had an author’s name and four books they’d written–Nathaniel Hawthorne, Charles Dickens, Louisa May Alcott.  My mind unfailingly wandered into those book titles as we played, conjuring up my own interpretation of the tales. I don’t know how often I won, but I know I loved playing the game!

Then there was that Christmas Day when all the gifts had been opened, and nothing was left to do except enjoy the newness of my surroundings–which included a book  I’d asked for. With a brand new stuffed animal to rest my head, a fresh box of saltwater taffy from a favorite friend, and a book called “Little Women” to indulge in, I had a glorious afternoon!

Louisa May Alcott moved me.  Something stirred in my soul as I climbed into her charming world and acquainted myself with each of her characters.  Years later, when my own three daughters were born, I thought back on Marmee’s wisdom many times. I most definitely feel Connected to the author, although she knows nothing about me.

Or does she?  Did she not put herself “out there,”  willing to have critics and public alike scrutinize her work?  That’s a significant vulnerability.  Yet she, and millions of others, willingly persevere,  opening themselves up to criticism. And when an author or musician or artist  does not perform “with  heart,” the reviews are unfavorable. Somehow, we as humans sense whether or not passion and authenticity exist in the piece.

A door hinge causes something to move, to swing open.  The same is true with those who may not know the identity of their audience–they reach out just the same, hoping to touch and inspire.  The idea that each of us, famous or not, carry within ourselves the divine ability to create, is a thrilling thought!  Perhaps the best books have yet to be written, the best songs have yet to be sung. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we all stepped out just a little bit more, and shared our amazing photographs, or our poetry hiding in a cardboard box?  What about that silly watercolor piece you felt inspired to create, and just can’t make yourself toss it away because you felt  something as you painted?

Some of my very favorite books?   The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom.  Gone With the Wind by  Margaret Mitchell.  A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee  by  Dee Brown   PS You’re Not Listening   by  Eleanor Craig  And who couldn’t feel connected to JK Rowling, when we knew all along that owls deliver mail and wands are custom made and Muggles are oblivious to magicians?

I’ve only mentioned authors today, but we all have artists, musicians, vocalists, etc, who speak to our hearts.  With the exception of my twelve-year-old heart that was completely convinced Donny Osmond sang “Puppy Love” to me alone, I tend to be moved more by words than by music. Perhaps you are different, and we’d love to hear about it!

 May your heart feel open to creativity today!

Leave a Reply

